It’s me – it’s really me! I’ve been away for a long time, and for that I’m sorry, but I have a good reason: I’ve been crazy busy! Planning the biggest celebration of my life added a lot to my plate, but then I got a new job less than a month before the wedding and life went into overdrive! I did not expect such a big change at such an already busy time in my life, but I’m extremely thankful for all of it. Let’s catch up!

Chris and I were married on a beautiful Saturday in April, a day more perfect than I could have ever dreamed. I had heard friends say their wedding was the best day of their life, but I completely underestimated what that day might look and feel like.

The best day of my life looked like a clear blue sky and temperatures in the low 70s. It looked like our most beloved family and friends gathered together in the same city, in the same place, meeting each other and becoming friends. It looked like my husband more handsome than ever in his sharp black tuxedo, and me in my dream dress of cascades of sparkling crystals, beads and layers of tulle. It looked like my breathtaking mom in her delicate dress and my two maids beautiful in berry. It looked like the most exquisite blooms from the talented ladies at Tenfold.

The best day of my life felt like the best hugs I’ve ever given or received as I reached the end of the aisle, arm in arm with my mom and dad. It felt like the tears that rolled down my cheeks as my dad gave his speech, saying he’d give anything to read “Goodnight Moon” to me just one more time.

The best day of my life looked like smiles and laughter on the faces of the people we love most. It tasted like the best food I’ve ever eaten and sounded like the music of the best club in town all night long.

The best day of my life looked like my husband’s face the morning after our wedding as we sat in bed in our hotel room, nibbling on leftovers from the night before and wondering if it was the most amazing dream. Fortunately it wasn’t.

150404_Holloway_005

We wrote our vows in these sweet books from the Paper Walrus: https://www.etsy.com/shop/thepaperwalrus.

150404_Holloway_043

I struggled to find a wedding dress I liked (forget about love!) until I tried on this one at M Bride in La Jolla. I felt like Grace Kelly in it.

150404_Holloway_054

I brought our wedding invitations to the talented ladies at Tenfold/formerly The Floral Department and they knocked it out of the park with the most beautiful blooms in shades of berry, black and ivory.

150404_Holloway_181

One of the single greatest memories of my wedding day: being married by my uncle Joe, who is so special to me.

150404_Holloway_203 150404_Holloway_208

150404_Holloway_220

150404_Holloway_150150404_Holloway_303 150404_Holloway_152

150404_Holloway_353

Bird's eye view of downtown San Diego from our reception venue.

Bird’s eye view of downtown San Diego from our reception venue.

This sign from Narwal was a super last minute decision for the entryway of our reception venue. We wanted our friends and family to know that they are the very best thing.

This sign from Narwal (https://www.etsy.com/shop/NarWall) was a super last minute decision for the entryway of our reception venue. We wanted our friends and family to know that they are the very best thing.

150404_Holloway_451

150404_Holloway_458

Our wedding cake from Heavenly Cupcakes was a cake version of their bestselling (and our favorite!) cupcake flavor, vanilla salted caramel.

Our wedding cake from Heavenly Cupcakes was a cake version of their popular (and our favorite!) cupcake flavor, vanilla salted caramel.

With our upcoming honeymoon to Belize, we invited our guests to enjoy a little bit of paradise with us.

With our upcoming honeymoon to Belize, we invited our guests to enjoy a little bit of paradise with us.

150404_Holloway_479

Indonesian chicken satay served during cocktail hour. Indonesia is special to us since Chris's mom was born there and we spent three weeks there three years ago. The Wild Thyme nailed these and all of our food stations.

Indonesian chicken satay served during cocktail hour. Indonesia is special to us since Chris’s mom was born there and we spent three weeks there in 2012. Jeanna and her team at The Wild Thyme nailed these and all of our food stations.

We entered our reception to

We entered our reception to “You Make My Dreams Come True” by Hall & Oates and broke into an impromptu dance!

150404_Holloway_520

Our first dance was to

Our first dance was to “Nothing Even Matters” by Lauryn Hill and D’Angelo. Perfect.

150404_Holloway_538

150404_Holloway_546

150404_Holloway_569

We lucked out with our amazing DJ - DJ Artistic from Sleeping Giant Music - who played the best music all night long and created the perfect party atmosphere.

We lucked out with our amazing DJ – Artistic from Sleeping Giant Music – who played the best music all night long and created the perfect party atmosphere.

Chris has no less than a dozen best guy friends who are there for each other through thick and thin. They are all great guys and I feel so lucky to have adopted them as friends.

Chris has no less than a dozen best guy friends who are there for each other through thick and thin. They are all great guys and I feel so lucky to have adopted them as friends. This is his best man, Mykee, giving his speech.

This picture of my two bridesmaids tag-teaming their speeches makes me laugh.

This picture of my two bridesmaids tag-teaming their speeches makes me laugh.

Dancing with my dad.

Dancing with my dad.

My girls going for the bouquet!

My girls going for the bouquet!

150404_Holloway_657

150404_Holloway_659

Best day ever with the best people ever

Best day ever with the best people ever.

All of these beautiful photos are by Chaz Cruz Photography (www.chazcruz.com), whose work I followed for years before getting to work with him. He and his associate, Kim Marcelo, are the very best photographers in the business if you ask me!

