Today is Valentine’s Day and being the expensive year this is with our wedding coming up so soon, Chris and I agreed we wouldn’t focus on things, but he still treated me in a few special ways, which made me feel great but also made me think about something I want to work on being more mindful of.

As I was browsing my Facebook feed this morning, I came across a post from a friend who has been struggling with the loss of her dad. She wrote that her dad was her Valentine and always sent her something to make her feel loved. She has been so open about the pain of her loss; my heart breaks for her. Her post reminded me that these observances aren’t happiness and roses for everyone – for many, they’re extremely difficult. With all of us in different places in our lives at different times, it can be difficult to connect, but I believe the best thing any of us can do is show each other love through an unexpected smile, a kind word, a thoughtful gesture. It sounds so simple and it is.

unnamed-1

Chris brought home a pre-Valentine’s Day cupcake in the same flavor as our wedding cake from Heavenly Cupcakes. I shouldn’t have had it (I shared it with my Valentine), but I did and I have no regrets!

unnamed

My cousin Kristen gifted me the cutest (and most thoughtful) Le Creuset heart-shaped dishes in the same color as our other pieces for my bridal shower. These dishes make adding a pinch of salt to my food so much more elegant!

unnamed-3

Tough love during a Valentine’s Day workout with Mike and Chad at Xplicit Fitness. I’m so thankful to have found them after my previous gym shut down. Their workouts are brutal, but I’ve never felt stronger or had more fun exercising!

unnamed-2Chris gifted me with a three-part Valentine’s Day gift that is thoughtful (a gift card to Cuppa Cuppa, my favorite drive-thru coffee shop), sweet (a card with my soon-to-be married name) and practical (batteries for my heart rate monitor).

