Hi, everybody, and Happy New Year! I’ve been waiting for 2015 with equal parts and excitement and dread – excitement because this is the year I get married and dread because this is the year I get married and have to diet and exercise my face off in preparation.

I’m doing well with exercise (I’m loving the boxing fusion classes at Xplicit Fitness and spin classes at The Rush – I’m also working out at UFC Gym and getting in hikes whenever possible) and my eating is pretty good, but it’s time to step things up. It can feel like a full-time job focusing so intensely on what you eat, so I’ve rounded up some of my favorite fit foods that I assure you are just as delicious as they are nutritious. And, because I have a full-time job, they’re also quick and easy to prepare. Happy healthy eating!

Breakfast

eggsand1-600x712-1

Poached Egg and Turkey Bacon Sandwich

Recipe and photo from Le Fork

We’re creatures of habit when it comes to food around here, so many weekend breakfasts at home have this on the menu. I like to swap the avocado for a slice of turkey bacon (I cut it in half to make two smaller slices) and use a 100-calorie English muffin or BagelThin instead of sprouted bread. I also add lots of hot sauce. Do what you like!

enhanced-12182-1420040937-19

Healthy Berry Yogurt Smoothies

Recipe and photo from Chef Savvy

I don’t drink a lot of smoothies because I have lactose trouble (Chris says he swears every girl does – psh!), but I love this one in moderation.

Lunch

eggkalesalad2

Sauteed Kale Salad with Edamame and Brown Rice

Recipe and photo from Cooking and Beer

We’re instituting Salad Sundays in 2015 and this one, packed with so many healthy goodies, is going to be eaten often. Fresh kale softened up, flavorful crushed garlic and red pepper, protein-packed edamame and brown rice, and a sunny-side-up egg to boot – your taste buds and bikini body are going to love this one.

6382a1f29c40454f0483207955e44cd4

Pan-Seared Chicken with Tomato-Olive Relish

Recipe and photo from MyRecipes.com

I’ve made this recipe somewhere around a million times over the last year and Chris hasn’t complained yet! I love taking chicken for lunch because it’s impossibly easy to transport and reheat.

Dinner

Cheesy Chicken Quinoa Meatloaf Muffins

Recipe and photo from Ambitious Kitchen

I’m going to be honest: These seemed weird to me, but I saw the light – the delicious light – once I made them. I should have known they would be good because the recipes comes from Monique of Ambitious Kitchen, one of my favorite healthy food bloggers.

exps39910_THHC1194739D37B

Asian Turkey Lettuce Wraps

Recipe and photo from Taste of Home

Do you love those Asian Chicken Lettuce Wraps from P.F. Chang’s as much as I do? Yes! It won’t hurt if you get those as an appetizer, then a cup of salty soup, then a little bit of orange chicken, then oh heck, a miniature dessert is fine, right? No! Save your money and your calories and make these wraps that taste just as good but are so much better for you instead.

Snacks

e31297adfe5d617c_protein-balls.xxxlarge

Peanut Butter Protein Balls

Recipe from Oxygen Magazine; photo from PopSugar Fitness

If you have a sweet tooth and love to satisfy it with peanut butter, you’re going to love these protein balls. The calorie count can creep up on you, so make sure you snack in moderation.

unnamed

Double Chocolate Zucchini Muffins

Recipe from Ambitious Kitchen; photo by me!

Zucchini in your chocolate muffin sound gross? This is another recipe from my girl Monique over at Ambitious Kitchen – if you don’t trust me, trust her. Hint: The zucchini makes these muffins mind-blowingly moist.

Do you have any other healthy recipes you love? Please tell me about them – I need all the fit foodie inspiration I can get!

