Tags

This week was an exercise in balance. The holidays are incredibly special to me and I love to fill them with the people and things I love. Add to that a wedding that is inching closer and closer every day, a job that keeps me incredibly busy, an exercise schedule I must adhere to if I want to fit into the dress I’m wearing for said wedding, volunteer commitments with the Junior League, this blog – the list goes on and often times, my cup runneth over. The older I get, the better I feel about not being able to fit it all in without excuses or guilt. I’m thankful to have support in this respect from a number of sources, especially my loved ones.

unnamed-2

Chris and I live just a half-mile from Cowles Mountain, yet we’ve never hiked it together until this past weekend. What an incredible experience. The air was fresh and crisp, the vistas at the top were beautiful and the workout was intense: My heart rate monitor clocked 850 calories. I can’t wait to go again this weekend.

unnamed-3

Bubbly and beautiful things at Little Lion Cafe in Point Loma. Not pictured: The housemade Belgian fries I devoured. My friend Dominique and her two sisters come from a very well-known San Diego food family, so it’s no surprise their new restaurant, featuring organic, farm-to-table fare, is spectacular. I have plans to return for breakfast this Sunday and am already drooling over the chia seed pudding with coconut whipped cream.
Little Lion Cafe, 1424 Sunset Cliffs Blvd., 92107

unnamed-1

I made my first gingerbread cookies of the Christmas season and while the cookies were phenomenal – just soft enough and perfectly spiced – the decorating was pretty dismal. I am never very good at that. Here’s the recipe. Hopefully you have better luck with royal icing than I did!

christopher-walken-peter-pan-billboard

Peter Pan is one of my favorite Disney movies of all time, and while I usually have little to no interest in these live TV recreations, I thought Allison Williams was fantastic in Peter Pan Live! last night. Christopher Walken was pure Captain Hook perfection.

